2018 / The Future Won't Wait: A Library-Led Approach to Sustainability


2018 / The Future Won't Wait: A Library-Led Approach to Sustainability

Members: 4
Latest Activity: Sep 4, 2018


No one expects libraries to save the world, but they are poised to do so. Given the enormous task in front of humankind to adapt to the rapid changes society is dealing with environmentally, politically, technologically, and economically all libraries can take a leading role to catalyze change and convene conversations that lead to collective problem solving in communities. As we move into a new era of library service and outreach design it must be acknowledged that the role of libraries needs to be proactive. We need libraries to overcome their chronic humbleness and step forward as sustainability leaders. The global network of libraries has the opportunity to have an unprecedented impact on the sustainability of our communities by coalescing around the framework of the “triple bottom line” and working with unexpected partners to ensure that their neighbors thrive in the coming years.

Rebecca T. Miller, Editorial Director, Library Journal & School Library Journal, USA

Rebekkah Smith Aldrich, Coordinator for Library Sustainability, Mid-Hudson Library System, USA

Friday, 14 September, 1:30 pm

Library (AGB), Salon

Discussion Forum

This Interactive Session does not have any discussions yet.

Comment Wall

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of 2018 / The Future Won't Wait: A Library-Led Approach to Sustainability to add comments!


Members (4)



Follow Next Library:


We are creating a new platform for Next Library - and we need your input - it only takes 5 minutes!



Systematic kicks off hunt for world’s best reading project Joy of Reading Award 2021

Posted by Next Library on February 3, 2021 at 18:39 0 Comments

The Systematic Joy of Reading Award is an international award founded by the software company Systematic in collaboration with Aarhus Public Libraries, and is presented every other year at the international Next Library conference in Aarhus.

The award is given to a project which is working innovatively to combat illiteracy, and which…


© 2021   Created by Next Library.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service